Game Informer Magazine
Published by GameStop Corp.
First Issue: August 1991
Issue: Monthly

GENRE: Gaming News

TEASER: Game Informer is the best place to get the latest news and reviews on video games and gaming.

SUMMARY: Game Informer is a monthly magazine featuring news, strategies, and reviews of video games and gaming consoles. This is the most circulated magazine. It has nearly 3 million subscribers. The game reviews in Game Informer as extremely detailed. The game reviews are graded on a scale of 1-10 with quarter intervals, 1 being the worst and 10 being the best. There are only a handful of games that have received a 10 score. Game Informer is also known for having very impressive graphics on the cover.

CRITIQUE: I am perhaps slightly biased when it comes to Game Informer because I am myself a subscriber. I feel it offers a large variety whether you are a casual gamer or a professional. I am not a serious gamer but I enjoy learning about them. I get most of my gaming news from Game Informer. There are also sometimes fun facts and quizzes inside. A few months ago there was a “Which Video Game Character Are You?” quiz. It’s now tacked to my wall. I’ll admit that I don’t understand some of the language due to the fact that I am not a serious gamer, but the articles and reviews seem clear and very thorough.

ABOUT THE PUBLISHER: GameStop is a corporation geared towards video game and entertainment software retailing. The have 6,500 retail stores in the world. It was founded in 1984 as Babbage’s. They merged with EB Games in 2005. They have stores in Canada, New Zealand, Norway, Italy, Ireland, Portugal, France, Germany, Denmark, Austria, Australia, Puerto Rico, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Aside from selling video games, they sell game accessories, and game strategy guides.

WEBSITE: http://www.gameinformer.com/

READING LEVEL: General Adult

CHALLENGE ISSUES: N/A

DEFENSE: N/A

CURRICULUM TIES: N/A

BOOKTALKING IDEAS: N/A

WHY INCLUDED: Video games are very popular with teenagers and adults now a days. I felt this was a great title for them to learn about gaming news.

