Sigh No More (2010)
Artist: Mumford and Sons
Track List
1. “Sigh No More”
2. “The Cave”
3. “Winter Winds”
4. “Roll Away Your Stone”
5. “White Blank Page”
6. “I Gave You All”
7. “Little Lion Man”
8. “Timshel”
9. “Thistle & Weeds”
10. “Awake My Soul”
11. “Dust Bowl Dance”
12. “After the Storm”

GENRE: Alternative, Folk, Rock, Bluegrass

Weep, little lion man,
You’re not as brave as you were at the start
Rate yourself and rake yourself
Take all the courage you have left
Wasted on fixing all the problems that you made in your own head

SUMMARY: This is the first studio album for Mumford and Sons. It has been a huge success. In the United States, Mumford and Sons’ Sign No More the album is the 10th-most-downloaded album of all time. It was ranked #8 for best record on NPR’s All Songs Considered. There can only be good things to come from this group.

CRITIQUE: The lyrics and melody are haunting and beautiful. Marcus’s gravelly vocals are raw and emotional. The instrumentals are excellently composed and preformed. These songs are filled with soul and poetic lyrics. Even if folk music is not your cup of tea, there is at least one song on this album that will move you.

ABOUT THE ARTIST: Mumford and Sons is an English folk rock band. It consists of four members. Marcus Mumford is on vocals, guitar, drums, mandolin. Ben Lovett is on vocals, keyboards, accordion, drums. “Country” Winston Marshall vocals, banjo, dobro, and Ted Dwane does vocals, string bass, drums, guitar. These four friends started playing together in 2007. Sigh No More is their first studio album.


READING LEVEL General Audiences

CHALLENGE ISSUES: There is mild cursing in a few of the song. There is also mention of guns in one of the songs.

DEFENSE: I would suggest looking at the ALA’s support page for challenged materials.



WHY INCLUDED: Folk music is not the first thing you think of when you think of music for teenagers, but this albums smart lyrics and wonderful composition is sure to attract older teens and adults alike.